[Yaesu] Watch out for a scam by Alex Barski. VE3XAX
Kelly Taylor
ve4xt at mts.net
Wed Jun 15 10:45:10 EDT 2011
http://www.qsl.net/ve3xax/
It also has what appears to be a current email address. Interesting that
this site says he is no longer using ve3xax.
I suspect that given the broken English on the site, the incredibly
impressive work on his homebrew amplifier and other clues on the site that
this gentleman is NOT the fellow selling (or at least claiming to be) the
AT-230.
73, kelly
ve4xt
On 6/15/11 8:59 AM, "Dave Holford" <holford at cogeco.ca> wrote:
> You might try VE3XAX at rac.ca
> Many Canadian Hams have an address at rac (Radio Amateurs of Canada -
> our version of the ARRL) and with luck you might find the real Alex Barski.
>
> Dave
> VE3HLU
>
> On 15/06/2011 6:42 AM, David Kirkby wrote:
>> I advertised on eHam.net and qrz.com that I was looking for a Kenwood
>> AT-230 ATU. I got a reply from someone claiming to be Alex Barski from
>> Canada with the callsign VE3XAX who has an email address of
>> ve3xax at blumail.org. I've no idea if his real name is that, or if he
>> holds that callsign, but I'm suspicious.
>>
>> This person offered me the ATU for $220 shipped to my house, but there
>> were a number of things that make me suspicious this is a scam.
>>
>> 1) When I checked on QRZ.COM, the address and name did not agree with
>> the callsign. The only similarity was they were in Canada. Today when
>> I checked, the information agreed.But yesterday they were definitely
>> different.
>>
>> 2) When I offered to pay via Paypal, I received this:
>>
>> "Thanks for the response to my email David but i am sorry i don't use
>> paypal or bank transfer as means of payment due to the instruction
>> giving to me by my bank and lawyer but i will entertain any other safe
>> and reliable mode of payment. Also what is your full shipping
>> information and we can discuss about the payment over the phone, give
>> me your number and i will give you a call to talk."
>>
>> This immediately made me "smell a rat", but I decided to play along
>> and gave him my mobile phone number.
>>
>> 3) Today he rings me, withholding the number, and says Western Union
>> would be a safe method of payment.
>>
>> I'm rather sorry I did not play him along a lot longer, but I told him
>> the deal was off. I might email him and say I had second thoughts, and
>> will string him along for a bit of fun. But basically be aware.
>>
>> Today I looked on qrz.com and found others have basically formed the
>> same conclusion of this person
>>
>> http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?300792-Fake-VE3XAX-Scam-from-wanted-add
>>
>> The strange thing is, the other person reporting the scam also played
>> along with it. Sometimes these scams can be fun! I think I'll play
>> along a bit more too.
>> ______________________________________________________________
>> Yaesu mailing list
>> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/yaesu
>> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
>> Post: mailto:Yaesu at mailman.qth.net
>>
>> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
>> Please help support this email list: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
>>
> ______________________________________________________________
> Yaesu mailing list
> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/yaesu
> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
> Post: mailto:Yaesu at mailman.qth.net
>
> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
> Please help support this email list: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
>
More information about the Yaesu
mailing list