[Yaesu] SPAM?
Jim Gerke
[email protected]
Sat, 26 Oct 2002 15:13:24 -0500
Yeah, I know how it works and what it's for.
It just boggles my mind that someone would subscribe to a list and then
force the people who post to that list to register with his spam
blocker. What a bunch of BS. I wonder if he EVER sees any posts made
here!!!! IMHO, he and his spam blocker are gulity of sending me spam
every time I receive one of their "you must register" messages.
Maybe the list owner will be so kind as to take that person (WB7ACV) off
the list or at least contact him and ask him to stop what he and his
spam blocker are doing to those of us who post here.
Rant mode off.
73, Jim, K5QL
Jon Ogden wrote:
>
> Jim,
>
> I received it for a particular person who is on the list. The list takes
> your message you sent to "[email protected]" and then "re-directs" or
> "reflects" it out to everyone who subscribes. The mail effectively looks
> like it came from you. However, the person who receives the mail does not
> have their e-mail address listed in the mail's headers as the "To:"
> recipient.
>
> So this person's ISP thinks it might be spam. So the mail gets rejected.
>
> It's not the Yaesu list that is doing it. It's this one person with the
> "quik" e-mail address or whatever it is. He probably wonders why he's not
> getting any Yaesu mail. I'd say who it is, but I deleted my copy and I
> don't see his e-mail listed below, but it looks like the callsign of the guy
> might be wb7acv.
>
> 73,
>
> Jon
> NA9D
>
> on 10/25/02 11:02 PM, Jim Gerke at [email protected] wrote:
>
> > Does anyone else get the following in an e-mail whenever they post to
> > this list?
> >
> > 73, Jim, K5QL
> >
> > --------------------------------------
> >
> > QUIKCOP has arrested your e-mail message to a Quik customer, with
> > subject "Re: [Yaesu] mfg date from sn#"
> >
> > Due to privacy and SPAM issues, you need to authorize yourself to
> > continue to send e-mail to
> > this person. You can easily do this by visiting the following web-page
> > within the next 48
> > hours:
> >
> >
> > http://q3.quik.com/cgi-bin/spamweb.pl?user=wb7acv&[email protected]+yaesu@mail
> > man.qth.net
> >
> > Enter your e-mail address on this web-page. The e-mail you sent will
> > then be delivered.
> >
> > You specified the following "TO" and "CC" address(es) in your e-mail:
> > [email protected] and [email protected]
>
> -------------------------------------
> Jon Ogden
> NA9D (ex: KE9NA)
>
> Life Member: ARRL, NRA
> Member: AMSAT, DXCC
>
> http://www.qsl.net/ke9na
>
> "A life lived in fear is a life half lived."