[Yaesu] VIRUS PURVEYOR GENERATING BOGUS CALLSIGN IDs

[email protected] [email protected]
Wed, 23 Oct 2002 14:27:47 EDT


Good Afternoon, Folks....
       My apologies for the off-topic item, but this matter is becoming 
epidemic, there is a new twist to it, and the subject has appeared on several 
Amateur Radio-related reflectors of late.  Please bear with me and perhaps I 
can save a "newbie" and others from falling victim.
       Over the past couple of months I have received several hundred e-mail 
messages, originating (arguably) from attbi, ATTBI, and houston.rr.com 
subscriber(s), containing executable attachments with no text message, "new 
game" message, and lately with "protect yourself from KLEZ.E virus" messages. 
 Also, lately, it is apparent that the individual and/or the virus itself can 
construct sender e-mail addresses containing bogus Amateur Radio Service 
callsigns.  That new twist almost nailed me, as the first such message 
contained a return address I initially mistood for a friend, who has a habit 
of sending me e-mails containing bare attachments with no text message.
       So, in the outside event you are inclined to open such messages as 
above, please check the routing before you do so, and be highly suspicious of 
callsign-laden messages particularly.  Also, the purveyor of this stuff is 
evidently uneducated or his English may be a second language, as his text 
messages are constructed poorly.
       I apologize for so much bandwidth, but I felt the content important 
enough to add my comments.  Thank you for your time and many past 
considerations and sincerest 73 to all.

Sam Mills, N9EMZ


--- StripMime Report -- processed MIME parts ---
multipart/alternative
  text/plain (text body -- kept)
  text/html
The reason this message is shown is because the post was in HTML
or had an attachment. Attachments are not allowed.
Please post in Plain-Text only.---