[SADXA] New Telephone/Computer Scam
Richard Solomon
dickw1ksz at gmail.com
Wed May 13 15:37:03 EDT 2015
No, I did not. I did a Google search on the number and
up came all sorts of messages, all bad !!
73, Dick
On Wed, May 13, 2015 at 12:29 PM, WD7F - John <wd7f at wd7f.com> wrote:
> A few years ago, the first time I got one of those Microsoft calls, he
> wanted me to look in the Event Viewer at an Application log, so I went
> along. Of course, those logs are full of errors. Then he wanted me to
> authorize him to remotely look in my computer.
>
> I have found that the best way to handle them is when they say they're from
> Microsoft, I yell "No you're not!" Then I say "Prove it!" Usually, they
> give up then.
>
> Richard, did you call the 1-855 number?
>
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: SADXA [mailto:sadxa-bounces at mailman.qth.net] On Behalf Of Richard
> Solomon
> Sent: Wednesday, May 13, 2015 10:10 AM
> To: CADXA; SADXA
> Subject: [SADXA] New Telephone/Computer Scam
>
> I got a call from some guy with an Indian-like accent who identified
> himself
> as a Microsoft Computer Eng.
> He said my computer was spewing out a virus.
>
> He gave me his phone number :1-855-335-7469.
>
> BEWARE ... THIS IS A SCAM.
>
> A Google search on the number came up with details about the scam. They try
> to sell you virus software.
>
> Play with him if you must, but I suggest just hanging up on them.
>
> 73 es be cautious, Dick, W1KSZ
> ______________________________________________________________
> SADXA Website http://www.sadxa.org
>
> SADXA mailing list
> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/sadxa
> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
> Post: mailto:SADXA at mailman.qth.net
>
> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
> You can support qsl.net: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
>
> ______________________________________________________________
> SADXA Website http://www.sadxa.org
>
> SADXA mailing list
> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/sadxa
> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
> Post: mailto:SADXA at mailman.qth.net
>
> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
> You can support qsl.net: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
>
More information about the SADXA
mailing list