[GreenKeys] phishing

Kevin H. Phillips kh-phillips at 9-5usa.org
Fri Jul 30 15:39:00 EDT 2021


Guys (and Gals),

I work in an environment that is keen on computer, and personal, 
information security.  Anytime there is a suspected phishing attempt it 
is called out and employees are alerted.  As the saying goes:  
forewarned is forearmed, or something like that.  There were a number of 
things about this incident which raised flags in my mind.  One being 
that the eBay listing for the T1000 completely disappeared soon after I 
e-mailed the seller.  It wasn't that the auction ended because the 
machine was sold, it was as if the auction never existed.  I just did a 
search for recent completed auctions and it doesn't show up.  I have 
seen a similar thing happen lately with high-dollar camera equipment.   
The person who joined GreenKeys apparently seeking information about a 
defective T1000 called herself Alice.  The person who called me soon 
after I sent "Alice" my phone number allowing her to call me to talk 
about the T1000 called herself Alice.  I wonder what are the odds on 
those being two completely different and unrelated people? According to 
the e-mails Paul forwarded, the person was not sure that the machine she 
had was the one on eBay.  That seems like an easy one to answer:  was it 
or was it not one that was recently listed on eBay?  She also expressed 
a willingness to sell the machine but only "on a closed channel."


Everyone here is used to trusting other GreenKeyers and hams in 
particular.  A few years ago I was scammed out of $1100 by another ham, 
of all people, when I tried to buy something from the QRZ Classifieds.  
Law enforcement wouldn't do anything about it, probably because it 
happens so often and it was "small potatoes" in their book.  I am taking 
the stance that this was a scam; an extremely elaborate, clever, and 
"ingenious" one from a certain perspective.  All I'll say is that you 
ignore these things to your own peril.


73


Kevin

W5TTY

On 7/30/2021 10:10 AM, Nick England wrote:
> C’mon guys. If Alice was legitimate you’ve probably driven her away. 
> If a phisher, just ignore and get on with teletypery.
> My 0.001 cents worth.
> Nick
>
> -- 
> Nick England K4NYW
> www.navy-radio.com <http://www.navy-radio.com>
>
> ______________________________________________________________
> GreenKeys mailing list
> Home: http://mailman.qth.net/mailman/listinfo/greenkeys
> Help: http://mailman.qth.net/mmfaq.htm
> Post: mailto:GreenKeys at mailman.qth.net
>
>>>> Jordan Spencer Cunningham's GreenKeys Search Tool: https://teletype.net/gksearch
>>>> 2002-to-present greenkeys archive: http://mailman.qth.net/pipermail/greenkeys/
>>>> 1998-to-2001 greenkeys archive: http://mailman.qth.net/archive/greenkeys/greenkeys.html
>>>> Randy Guttery's 2001-to-2009 GreenKeys Search Tool: http://comcents.com/tty/greenkeyssearch.html
> This list hosted by: http://www.qsl.net
> Please help support this email list: http://www.qsl.net/donate.html
> Message delivered to kh-phillips at 9-5usa.org


-- 
This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.
https://www.avg.com
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.qth.net/pipermail/greenkeys/attachments/20210730/331de599/attachment.html>


More information about the GreenKeys mailing list